EXPLORE THE HISTORY OF GRIFFYDAM
Griffydam is a small hamlet in North West Leicestershire and is located in the parish of Worthington.
The name of the village of Griffydam is thought to originate from Old Norse “gryfja” (cleft/valley) and Old English “dammer” (dam). There are also historical references to “Griffith’s dam”. This suggests that a “small” settlement probably developed as far back as the time of the Viking invasion of 873.
To discover more about the history of our village go to TOPICS, follow the HERITAGE TRAIL..... or view the Book Publications via the link below, from which we have taken may extracts for this website with the kind permission of the author Samuel T Stewart.
Samuel T Stewart is an historian and author of many publications on the local area including Griffydam village. To view or download the publications from the author's website for free click the View Publications button below.
A book on Limestone Burning in NW Leicestershire by Samuel T Stewart is now available to view or download from the author's website (see Other Industries)
A photograph of Griffydam Football Club 1921-22 has been added to the Gallery. Many thanks to Susan Seal for sending this picture of her grandfather's team.
We have received this very rare photograph of Griffydam Wesleyan Day School. Many thanks to Marilyn Baldry for sharing this with us. It is the only photograph we have of the school building. Marilyn's mother attended the school as a pupil. Find out more about the Wesleyan Day School here>